Kris Meeke

Late pain for Kris in Mexico

Sunday, 9th March 2014 - by Site Admin
Late pain for Kris in Mexico

Last-stage drama cost Kris some World Rally Championship points on today’s closing leg of Rally Mexico, the third round of the 2014 season.

Kris entered the final day in ninth overall, with high hopes of gaining more experience and bagging at least a couple of potentially valuable WRC points in the process.

Things looked good for the Northern Irishman and his co-driver Paul Nagle, with promising times throughout the day, including sixth overall on the 35-mile Guanajuatito test, one of the longest in the entire world championship.

However, during the final stage Kris’s Citroen DS3 WRC hit a rock in the road, causing severe right-front suspension damage and rendering the car undriveable. With only a few miles remaining, he was forced to retire from the event. The result was particularly disappointing since another points finish would have made Kris one of only three drivers (along with Sebastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala) to have scored in all of the first three rounds.

Kris said, ‘I think I’ve made great strides in understanding the DS3 WRC here, and the pace to adopt in stages. It’s a disappointment to not finish, though; in the Power Stage I was first on the road and I hit a stone. I just couldn’t avoid it. So while there are a lot of positive things that I’ve learned on this event, it’s very frustrating to not make the finish.’

The WRC now returns to Europe for its first gravel event there this season, Rally Portugal, on 3-6 April. Kris will again be focusing on gaining experience, since he has never tackled this event before.

Rally Mexico – provisional final results:

1 Sebastien Ogier (VW Polo WRC) 4h27m41.8s
2 Jari-Matti Latvala (VW Polo WRC) +1m12.6s
3 Thierry Neuville (Hyundai i20 WRC) +5m28.6s
4 Elfyn Evans (Ford Fiesta WRC) +6m49.3s
5 Martin Prokop (Ford Fiesta WRC) +9m54.4s
6 Benito Guerra (Ford Fiesta WRC) +12m57.6s

WRC Drivers’ points after three rounds:
1 Sebastien Ogier 63 points
2 Jari-Matti Latvala 60 points
3 Mads Ostberg 32 points
4 Andreas Mikkelsen 24 points
5 Elfyn Evans 20 points
6 Bryan Bouffier 18 points
8 Kris Meeke 17 points

WRC Manufacturers’ points after three rounds:
1 Volkswagen Motorsport 115 points
2 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team 60 points
3 M-Sport World Rally Team 40 points
4 Hyundai Motorsport 31 points
5 Volkswagen Motorsport II 28 points
6 Jipocar Czech National Team 10 points