Kris Meeke

Kris Powers to points on Monte

Sunday, 25th January 2015 - by Site Admin
Kris Powers to points on Monte

Kris has claimed more fastest times – including a win on the event-closing Power Stage – as he put in a fine performance on the opening round of the 2015 World Rally Championship, Rallye Monte Carlo.

After the disappointment of a minor off on Friday that forced him to ‘retire’ from the leg – and thus give up any chance of a podium finish – Kris had been recovering strongly through Saturday’s stages. And he continued that strong pace today, setting fastest time on the opening test – which would go on to be used as the Power Stage later in the day.

This morning’s middle stage included the classic run over the Col de Turini, but Kris and his co-driver Paul Nagle elected to cede time to the leading runners in a bid to preserve their car and tyres for that final test. The Power Stage is televised live and, crucially, offers extra world championship points to the fastest three crews.

It was a gamble that paid off handsomely, as Kris pipped his team-mate, the nine-times world champion Sebastien Loeb, by just 0.2sec over the six miles to claim his third fastest stage time of the rally – and three additional world championship points. He finished 10th in the overall classification, so he takes four points away from the season opener.

Kris said, ‘It’s been an event of promise but also frustration. Of course Friday’s incident was disappointing, and it cost us the chance of a really good fight and finish. After that, we showed good times against Sebastien [Loeb], and it’s great to get those Power Stage points – but I want to get results this year too.’

The 2015 WRC moves to full-on snow and ice for its next event, the Swedish Rally on 12-15 February.

Rallye Monte Carlo – leading finishers
1 Sebastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (VW Polo WRC) 3h36m40.2s
2 Jari-Matti Latvala/Miikka Anttila (VW Polo WRC) +58.0s
3 Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene (VW Polo WRC) +2m12.3s
4 Mads Ostberg/Jonas Andersson (DS 3 WRC) 2m43.6s
5 Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 WRC) +3m12.1s
6 Dani Sordo/Marc Marti (Hyundai i20 WRC) +3m12.9s

10 Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (DS 3 WRC) +10m55.6s